It finally got us…

There is nothing like a good dose of winter ills to make you really appreciate how great life is when you are fit and healthy! For weeks I have been listening to Mums tell me about their families latest bout of illness, there’s been a bit of everything out there… chickenpox, colds, tummy bugs… and I have been busy touching wood and saying how incredibly healthy my kids have been this year.

Well, this week we got our turn… it all started at work on Thursday when my phone rang and the preschool number popped up on the screen, this always causes my blood pressure to rise ever so slightly! This time it was Miss Tilda with rather gunky red eyes. 24 hours later we were in the thick of it with two kids sporting gunky eyes and green snotty noses and Mumma struck down with a nasty head cold, dodgy voice, tickly cough and generally feeling 100% crap! The upside being that my day off work was completely warranted with three of us at home… the downside being that I felt completely and utterly washed out but still had two delightful monkeys to care for all day! To their credit the day wasn’t as bad as I first expected Louis and Matilda are developing a lovely relationship and they play and interact together so well when big brother isn’t in the mix. Louis loves to role play and Matilda goes along for the ride taking instructions from him quite happily, it was amazing to sit back and watch their interactions as they trotted round together cooking food, working on the farm and driving in the dirty white truck. Then came the time that I gave myself a pat on the back for working so hard on developing and maintaining quality sleep routines… at midday on the dot they both trotted off to bed for what turned into 2 hour naps, giving me my much longed for time and space to rest and try to recharge my batteries.

A couple of days down the track now and there seems to be light at the end of our winter illness tunnel, at least for the kids… I am writing this in the far too early hours of the morning after being kicked out of bed with my annoying tickly cough!

Leave a Reply

